Time for a vacuum?

A graph of CPU, Motherboard and Graphics card temperatures so far this year.

Since getting this machine I’ve been collecting hardware measurements from it. I thought I should try to see if there are any trends developing.

Average daily temperature readings for SMAUG; the machine was dormant in June/July.


It’s kind of tricky because the database has readings from almost a million time points in it, with 36 measurements for each. Ad hoc queries can take a bit of forethought. There’s also the fact that at some times I might be playing a game on its maximum video settings and at others I might be doing practically nothing. I normally only do any one intensive activity for a few hours a day, so the average reading for each day should be a reasonable indication of any long-term changes.

A factor that could affect it over the medium- or long-term are a change in the type of game I want to play at that time.  I was playing Neverwinter Nights 2 in April which could explain the shape of the graphics data at that time.

My first graph was just of CPU temperature; I was curious to see a gradual upward trend there. Was it dust accumulating in the fans? Or it could just be a different typical use of it.

There’s no obvious corresponding trend in the motherboard or graphics card temperatures. So nothing serious to worry about. Though I guess checking the CPU fan and heat sink for dust won’t do any harm.

Update. Yes, it was!

I’ve opened the case and found quite a bit of dust.  It’s on the external fans (which are easily cleaned); but there’s also a faint layer over most the surfaces, such as the graphics card.  I’ve attempted to remove it but I don’t want to actually touch any of it since the circuitry is exposed there (and I don’t have any antistatic cleaning equipment handy).  Finally, the CPU fan and heatsink especially were starting to clog with dust.  I have cleaned them.

The result is that CPU temperature has dropped by about 10 degrees.

New temperature chart, showing 10 degree drop in CPU temperature after cleaning

This entry was posted in Hardware and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Time for a vacuum?

  1. Pingback: Minor hardware improvements and plans | EJRH

Leave a comment